Coverart for item
The Resource A Simple Favor : A Novel, Darcey Bell, (electronic resource)

A Simple Favor : A Novel, Darcey Bell, (electronic resource)

Label
A Simple Favor : A Novel
Title
A Simple Favor
Title remainder
A Novel
Statement of responsibility
Darcey Bell
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family." -- Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author She's your best friend. She knows all your secrets. That's why she's so dangerous. A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. It starts with a simple favor -- an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together -- just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time. But Emily doesn't come back. She doesn't answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong -- Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily's husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It's the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing -- not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor -- is as simple as it seems. A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense -- a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page."
Cataloging source
CtWfDGI
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Bell, Darcey
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3602.E45255
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Deception
  • Missing persons
  • Female friendship
  • Single mothers
Label
A Simple Favor : A Novel, Darcey Bell, (electronic resource)
Link
https://lanepl.freading.com/ebooks/details/r:download/Y29tLmhhcnBlcmNvbGxpbnMuOTc4MDA2MjQ5Nzc5Ng==
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Control code
frd00030355
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (304 p.)
File format
one file format
Form of item
online
Governing access note
Access limited to subscribing institutions
Isbn
9780062497796
Isbn Type
(epub)
Level of compression
unknown
Other control number
9780062497796
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Specific material designation
remote
Label
A Simple Favor : A Novel, Darcey Bell, (electronic resource)
Link
https://lanepl.freading.com/ebooks/details/r:download/Y29tLmhhcnBlcmNvbGxpbnMuOTc4MDA2MjQ5Nzc5Ng==
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Control code
frd00030355
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (304 p.)
File format
one file format
Form of item
online
Governing access note
Access limited to subscribing institutions
Isbn
9780062497796
Isbn Type
(epub)
Level of compression
unknown
Other control number
9780062497796
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Specific material designation
remote

Library Locations

    • Lane Public LibraryBorrow it
      1396 University Blvd, Hamilton, OH, 45011, US
      39.3832585 -84.5606269

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...