Coverart for item
The Resource Hello, Universe, Erin Entrada Kelly, (electronic resource)

Hello, Universe, Erin Entrada Kelly, (electronic resource)

Label
Hello, Universe
Title
Hello, Universe
Statement of responsibility
Erin Entrada Kelly
Creator
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
Winner of the Newbery Medal A charming, intriguingly plotted novel. Washington Post Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships. This middle grade novel is an excellent choice for tween readers in grades 5 to 6, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom. Told from four intertwining points of view-two boys and two girls-the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits. Booklist In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball. They aren't friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms. The acclaimed and award-winning author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia. Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone-humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending. School Library Journal
Cataloging source
CtWfDGI
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Kelly, Erin Entrada
Dewey number
[Fic]
Index
no index present
LC call number
PZ7.1.K45
Literary form
fiction
Nature of contents
dictionaries
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Sisters
  • Psychic ability
  • Hearing impaired
  • Bullying
  • Missing children
  • Friendship
Target audience
juvenile
Label
Hello, Universe, Erin Entrada Kelly, (electronic resource)
Link
https://lanepl.freading.com/ebooks/details/r:download/Y29tLmhhcnBlcmNvbGxpbnMuOTc4MDA2MjQxNDE3NQ==
Instantiates
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Control code
frd00033926
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (320 p.)
File format
one file format
Form of item
online
Governing access note
Access limited to subscribing institutions
Isbn
9780062414175
Isbn Type
(epub)
Level of compression
unknown
Other control number
9780062414175
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Specific material designation
remote
Label
Hello, Universe, Erin Entrada Kelly, (electronic resource)
Link
https://lanepl.freading.com/ebooks/details/r:download/Y29tLmhhcnBlcmNvbGxpbnMuOTc4MDA2MjQxNDE3NQ==
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Control code
frd00033926
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (320 p.)
File format
one file format
Form of item
online
Governing access note
Access limited to subscribing institutions
Isbn
9780062414175
Isbn Type
(epub)
Level of compression
unknown
Other control number
9780062414175
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
Reformatting quality
unknown
Specific material designation
remote

Library Locations

    • Lane Public LibraryBorrow it
      1396 University Blvd, Hamilton, OH, 45011, US
      39.3832585 -84.5606269

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...